Where to find a job for a good interpreter-translator English Russian?
Thread poster: Lzeloni
Lzeloni
Lzeloni
Russian Federation
Local time: 15:21
English to Russian
+ ...
Apr 21, 2017

Hello everybody!
I am a very good translator, but I cant find a good job on the internet.
Any advices?
About me:
I live in St. Petersburg, Russia.
I'm a native speaker, studied in New York.Also I have a TOEFL certificate.
I speak fluently and I can translate English easily.
I teach Russian and English in my country, as well as on the Internet.

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 12:21
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
What sort of a job? Apr 21, 2017

Lzeloni wrote:

Are you looking for a salaried job - as in being employed? If so, I think you're unlikely to find one, unless things are different in Russia. Most translators are freelancers, working for each client on a single text, maybe just a page i.e. an hour's work, and then hoping they'll come back for more. There are many jobs of that sort online, in fact there's a vast number of them. They aren't all good, though .

Here on ProZ.com is as good a place as any to market your services, as it's the largest online translation marketplace. But there are poor, bottom-feeding clients here as well as good ones, and unfortunately it's the poor ones who are the most seen. It stands to reason really - they are so unappetising to work with, translators tend to do one job for them and then prefer to find better clients, so those agencies are always needing more translators for their large volumes of work for end clients who are more interested in a cheap translation than a quality one. If you want to be contacted privately by the best agencies and by direct clients here, you have to make yourself stand out from the crowd. You can find out how to do that by visiting the Site Guidance Centre and attending the regular free webinar on meeting clients here.