Thread poster: Karen Roberts
Karen Roberts
Karen Roberts  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 23:40
Spanish to English
+ ...
Aug 13, 2018

Hi, I am a UK resident after living and translating in Spain for 15 years. I understand that I don't need to pay VAT as I earn below the threshold over here. However, nearly all Spanish translation agencies keep asking me for a VAT number and it seems they won't consider working with me unless I have one. Is it normal to register for VAT anyway even though you shouldn't have to? Also if I register and earn below the threshold does this mean I have to pay it or can I just register to get a number... See more
Hi, I am a UK resident after living and translating in Spain for 15 years. I understand that I don't need to pay VAT as I earn below the threshold over here. However, nearly all Spanish translation agencies keep asking me for a VAT number and it seems they won't consider working with me unless I have one. Is it normal to register for VAT anyway even though you shouldn't have to? Also if I register and earn below the threshold does this mean I have to pay it or can I just register to get a number? Any help much appreciated.Collapse

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Don't do it Aug 13, 2018

Karen Roberts wrote:

Hi, I am a UK resident after living and translating in Spain for 15 years. I understand that I don't need to pay VAT as I earn below the threshold over here. However, nearly all Spanish translation agencies keep asking me for a VAT number and it seems they won't consider working with me unless I have one. Is it normal to register for VAT anyway even though you shouldn't have to? Also if I register and earn below the threshold does this mean I have to pay it or can I just register to get a number? Any help much appreciated.