Subtitling software for Mac
Thread poster: Bernadette Vincent-De heyder
Bernadette Vincent-De heyder
Cambodia
Local time: 00:13
English to French
Jan 12, 2015

What are the best subtitling software for Mac?

Max Deryagin
Max Deryagin  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 22:13
Member (2013)
English to Russian
It depends on many things Jan 12, 2015

bernade wrote:

What are the best subtitling software for Mac?

Dear bernade,

There is no such thing as "the subtitling best software for X". All the programs have their pros and cons, and which one suits you best depends on your budget and your specific professional needs. Please outline the two, so that I can proceed giving you advice on which tool to pick.

[Edited at 2015-01-12 15:40 GMT]

Cambodia
English to French
TOPIC STARTER
free software Jan 12, 2015

Hi Max,

I'm a translator but wanted to learn more about subtitling and I'm just starting an online course with a university in the UK which uses Subtitle Workshop. But I work with a Mac, so I'm trying to find, if possible, a free software for the time being. What do you think of Aegisub?

Max Deryagin
Russian Federation
Member (2013)
English to Russian
I see Jan 12, 2015

bernade wrote:

Hi Max,

I'm a translator but wanted to learn more about subtitling and I'm just starting an online course with a university in the UK which uses Subtitle Workshop. But I work with a Mac, so I'm trying to find, if possible, a free software for the time being. What do you think of Aegisub?

I'll be brutally honest here: Subtitle Workshop doesn't cut it for professional subtitling — for many reasons, but mainly because it lacks shot change detection, which makes creating accurate, standards-compliant timecodes simply impossible.