Thread poster: Hardy Moreno
Hardy Moreno
Hardy Moreno  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:38
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 26, 2006

Hello,

I'm kind of new to the whole TM thing. I need to translate several pdf forms. Can someone recommend a TM Program that works with pdf files.

Please also talk about the ease of use if there are several programs out there.

Thanks

Cintia Pecellin
Cintia Pecellin  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 13:38
Member (2003)
English to Spanish
If possible... Jun 26, 2006

If the format allows for it, you can always export your pdf files to Word and use Trados, Wordfast, etc. as usual.

Good luck
Zyntia.

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
None that I'm aware of Jun 26, 2006

Hardy Moreno wrote:
Can someone recommend a TM Program that works with pdf files.

I don't know of any TM program that works with PDF files. Usually you'd have to convert the PDF to some other format, and when you're done, you have to convert it back to PDF, and the conversion won't be lossless.

RWSTranslati (X)
RWSTranslati (X)
Germany
German to English
+ ...
Wrong question Jun 26, 2006

Hello,

you have the wrong question.

Which (editor) prgram works with pdf files.

If you can find a good edior for pdf files, you can after this look for the tm program.

Hans

Antoní­n Otáhal
Antoní­n Otáhal
Member (2005)
English to Czech
+ ...
Not a good procedure Jun 26, 2006

Since no documents are actually created in pdf directly, it makes much more sense to translate in the format from which the pdf was created.

If that original format is unavailable (which is much too often the case), you have to convert to, say, Word and then (after translating it) back to pdf. I is always problematic, but sometimes workable.

Antonin

Hardy Moreno
Hardy Moreno  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:38
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
What TM program(s) work with PDF files Jun 26, 2006

Thanks guys!!