Do you need to be bilingual to work as an interpreter?
Autor vlákna: chatterjee88
chatterjee88
chatterjee88
Indie
Local time: 20:12
angličtina -> bengálština
May 10, 2014

Hi there,

Hope all of you are doing good. I have a question for all of you as I have no better knowledge about it. My cousin has completed his M.A in ancient history. And planning to researcher in the UK. He is very proficient in English writing, reading. But he can't speak English good. He wants to do part time interpreter job in UK.

Now my question is: In interpreter job is it necessary to be a bilingual in speaking?

Please help me to learn
... See more
Hi there,

Hope all of you are doing good. I have a question for all of you as I have no better knowledge about it. My cousin has completed his M.A in ancient history. And planning to researcher in the UK. He is very proficient in English writing, reading. But he can't speak English good. He wants to do part time interpreter job in UK.

Now my question is: In interpreter job is it necessary to be a bilingual in speaking?

Please help me to learn more.

Thanks
Collapse

Karen Stokes
Karen Stokes  Identity Verified
Velká Británie
Local time: 15:42
Člen (2003)
francouzština -> angličtina
Information May 10, 2014

Your cousin might find this article helpful https://nationalcareersservice.direct.gov.uk/advice/planning/jobprofiles/Pages/interpreter.aspx but yes, interpreters need to speak fluently in both languages.

LilianNekipelov
LilianNekipelov  Identity Verified
Spojené státy americké
Local time: 10:42
ruština -> angličtina
+ ...
Yes, it is necessary to be bilingual (top fluency in both languages) in speech May 10, 2014

(in speech, especially). It might be slightly different in the case of some rare languages--really rare--not like Bengali, which is not a very rare, language, especially in the combination with English. Your cousin should work on his spoken English, if he would like to work as an interpreter.

[Edited at 2014-05-10 10:59 GMT]