Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Is it possible to find clients exclusively online?
Thread poster: Alana Morris (X)
Alana Morris (X)
Alana Morris (X)
United Kingdom
Feb 26, 2022

Hello,

I am currently studying for a master's in translation to become a DE->EN translator.

I am a native English speaker with a degree in and a lot of working experience in the German language. When I graduate, however, I will likely be moving to North America.

This will certainly make it more difficult to find clients, as I know that the majority of the DE->EN work is to be found in the German speaking countries.

My question is, is it possi
... See more
Hello,

I am currently studying for a master's in translation to become a DE->EN translator.

I am a native English speaker with a degree in and a lot of working experience in the German language. When I graduate, however, I will likely be moving to North America.

This will certainly make it more difficult to find clients, as I know that the majority of the DE->EN work is to be found in the German speaking countries.

My question is, is it possible to earn a living in translation solely from finding clients online? Or is it still vital to be able to obtain business from contacts gained in a face to face setting?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Alana
Collapse

Jan Truper
Jan Truper  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 21:36
Member (2016)
English to German
... Feb 27, 2022

I have been freelance translating EN>DE for about 17 years now, successful enough for my needs.
I have never had a single face-to-face meeting with a client.

[Edited at 2022-02-27 16:06 GMT]

Josephine Cassar
Paul Lambert
Adieu
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Angie Garbarino
Rachel Waddington
Tom in London

Jan Truper
Jan Truper  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2016)
English to German
... Feb 27, 2022

... And I think that clients generally consider it advantageous if a translator resides in a country of her/his target language.

Tom in London
Rui Domingues