Georgia Blerot
Georgia Blerot  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:58
Member (2022)
French to English
+ ...
Jul 21, 2022

I've been translating on and off for the last 20 years in addition to being employed by various companies. I have recently switched to freelancing full-time as a translator. Do you think it would be unethical or misleading for me to say I have 20-years experience as a translator?

Rachel Waddington
Rachel Waddington  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:58
Dutch to English
+ ...
No ... Jul 21, 2022

... as long as it's clear that you haven't been translating full time. In your shoes I would also be focussing on real-world marketing experience because that is what will set you apart from most other translators out there. That, combined with your translation experience should be a great combination.

Dan Lucas
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Aicha GUENDOUZI

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 19:58
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
@Georgia Jul 21, 2022

There’s no rule. It’s entirely up to you what you include in your CV and how. In my case, I always say that I have been translating for over 30 years full-time + a few years part-time (it happens to be true)...

[Edited at 2022-07-21 11:16 GMT]

Anton Konashenok
Anton Konashenok  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 20:58
French to English
+ ...
Judge your own experience Jul 21, 2022

You can probably judge the quality of this experience yourself. Even if you were translating only occasionally but routinely gained valuable knowledge and skills from it, it's an honest experience and you can report it as such. Conversely, someone who has been a full-time certified translator for 20 years but translated only birth certificates, college diplomas and the like - believe me, there are lots of translators who do just that - may not be highly experienced at all. If you look through Ku... See more