The University of Salford considers closing down the Department of Italian

This discussion belongs to Translation news » "The University of Salford considers closing down the Department of Italian".
You can see the translation news page and participate in this discussion from there.

Russell Jones
Russell Jones  Identity Verified
英国
Local time: 11:45
イタリア語 から 英語
Donations requested Apr 27, 2012

Having "signed" this petition, I was taken to a page requesting donations to ipetitions, with a range of figures to select, from $2 upwards and preset at $25.
I selected $2 and continued, in the hope that there would be an option to change the figure before committing to payment.
There wasn't. So I didn't continue but, from the e-mail acknowledgement, it appears my vote has been registered anyway.

[Edited at 2012-04-27 16:27 GMT]

Sarah Puchner
Sarah Puchner  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:45
フランス語 から 英語
I signed Apr 27, 2012

I graduated from Salford in 1988 and am a firm believer in the strength of the Modern Languages program there. I signed the petition. Thanks, Diana, for flagging the story.

Ty Kendall
Ty Kendall  Identity Verified
英国
ヘブライ語 から 英語
The real tragedy is it's not an isolated phenomenon....GOING, GOING, GONE. Apr 27, 2012

It's happening in Humanities & Languages departments in universities up and down the country. The year I left my university they had begun a process to phase out French & German (and had restricted/cut the Language Programme teaching a range of other languages as electives). I think Spanish is gone now too (or on its way).

Not to worry, all the money is being redirected into the Law department, as they have numbers (that's just what this country needs, more lawyers)...*sarcasm*.
<
... See more