Thread poster: Christopher W Gladden
Christopher W Gladden
Christopher W Gladden  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 16:36
Japanese to English
Aug 10, 2014

Hello,

First of all, I hope I'm posting this in the right forum. I'm pretty new to translation and brand new to this site (about an hour old). So thank you in advance for all your input and advice. If I'm not in the right place please let me know and I'll re-post.

While I'm new to translation I've done a lot of writing. My Japanese level is high enough and the informal translation I've done has been well received. Long story short, I've been given the opportunity to tr
... See more
Hello,

First of all, I hope I'm posting this in the right forum. I'm pretty new to translation and brand new to this site (about an hour old). So thank you in advance for all your input and advice. If I'm not in the right place please let me know and I'll re-post.

While I'm new to translation I've done a lot of writing. My Japanese level is high enough and the informal translation I've done has been well received. Long story short, I've been given the opportunity to translate a book into English (from the Japanese) by the authors. It's non-fiction, dealing with recent developments in Japanese Buddhism and it's international context. It was published less than a year ago and is still causing a stir here in Buddhist circles. It's pretty cutting edge stuff and the authors are fairly well known, so the chances of the translation actually being published is high.

At the end of the month I have a meeting with the authors to discuss how we'll go about getting it published. Of course I have no idea. There are a few somewhat related posts I've found on Proz, but the information is sometimes conflicting.